Attorneys General

2022 Attorneys General 

Partisan Splits: R-27 | D-24

Last updated: 9/2/2022

State Attorney General Party Next Election Selection Method
Alabama Steve Marshall R 2022 Elected
Alaska Treg Taylor R Term at discretion of Governor Appointed by Governor
Arizona Mark Brnovich R 2022 Elected
Arkansas Leslie Rutledge R 2022 Elected
California Rob Bonta D 2022 Elected
Colorado Phil Weiser D 2022 Elected
Connecticut William Tong D 2022 Elected
Delaware Kathy Jennings D 2022 Elected
District of Columbia Karl Racine D 2022 Elected
Florida Ashley Moody R 2022 Elected
Georgia Chris Carr R 2022 Elected
Hawaii Holly Shikada D Term at discretion of Governor Appointed by Governor
Idaho Lawrence Wasden R 2022 Elected
Illinois Kwame Raoul D 2022 Elected
Indiana Todd Rokita R 2022 Elected
Iowa Tom Miller D 2022 Elected
Kansas Derek Schmidt R 2022 Elected
Kentucky Daniel Cameron R 2023 Elected
Louisiana Jeff Landry R 2023 Elected
Maine Aaron Frey D Term expires January 2023 Elected by State Legislature
Maryland Brian Frosh D 2022 Elected
Massachusetts Maura Healey D 2022 Elected
Michigan Dana Nessel D 2022 Elected
Minnesota Keith Ellison D 2022 Elected
Mississippi Lynn Fitch R 2023 Elected
Missouri Eric Schmitt R 2024 Elected
Montana Austin Knudsen R 2024 Elected
Nebraska Doug Peterson R 2022 Elected
Nevada Aaron Ford D 2022 Elected
New Hampshire John Formella R Term expires March 2025 Appointed by Governor
New Jersey Matthew Platkin* D Term at discretion of Governor Appointed by Governor
New Mexico Hector Balderas D 2022 Elected
New York Letitia James D 2022 Elected
North Carolina Josh Stein D 2023 Elected
North Dakota Drew Wrigley* R 2022 Elected
Ohio Dave Yost R 2022 Elected
Oklahoma John M. O'Connor R 2022 Elected
Oregon Ellen Rosenblum D 2024 Elected
Pennsylvania Josh Shapiro D 2024 Elected
Rhode Island Peter Neronha D 2022 Elected
South Carolina Alan Wilson R 2022 Elected
South Dakota Mark Vargo* R 2022 Elected
Tennessee Jonathan Skrmetti* R Term expires September 2030 Appointed by Supreme Court
Texas Ken Paxton R 2022 Elected
Utah Sean D. Reyes R 2024 Elected
Vermont Susanne Young* D 2022 Elected
Virginia Jason Miyares* R 2025 Elected
Washington Bob Ferguson D 2024 Elected
West Virginia Patrick Morrisey R 2024 Elected
Wisconsin Josh Kaul D 2022 Elected
Wyoming Bridget Hill R Term at discretion of Governor Appointed by Governor

* First Term AG in 2022