2022 Attorneys General Elections


Thirty (30) states are holding a regularly-scheduled election for the Office of Attorney General this cycle. 

Click on a candidate's name to view issues they are campaigning on and the plans they propose to implement if elected.




Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle. 

For additional information, please contact Meghan Holihan

State Current Party Control Primary Date Candidate
Texas Republican 3/1/2022 (Runoff - 5/24/2022) Attorney General Ken Paxton (R) (Inc.)
Texas Republican 3/1/2022 (Runoff - 5/24/2022) Rochelle Mercedes Garza (D)
Ohio Republican 5/3/2022 Attorney General Dave Yost (R) (Inc.)
Ohio Republican 5/3/2022 State Representative Jeff Crossman (D)
Nebraska (Open Seat) Republican 5/10/2022 Senator Mike Hilgers (R)
Idaho Republican 5/17/2022 Former Congressman Raúl R. Labrador (R)
Idaho Republican 5/17/2022 Steven Scanlin (D)
Alabama Republican 5/24/2022 Attorney General Steve Marshall (R) (Inc.)
Alabama Republican 5/24/2022 Wendell Major (D)
Georgia Republican 5/24/2022 Attorney General Chris Carr (R) (Inc.)
Georgia Republican 5/24/2022 State Senator Jen Jordan (D)
Arkansas (Open Seat) Republican 5/24/2022 Jesse Gibson (D)
Arkansas (Open Seat) Republican 5/24/2022 Lieutenant Governor Tim Griffin (R)
California Democratic 6/7/2022 Attorney General Rob Bonta (D) (Inc.)
California Democratic 6/7/2022 Nathan Hochman (R)
Iowa Democratic 6/7/2022 Attorney General Tom Miller (D) (Inc.)
Iowa Democratic 6/7/2022 Brenna Bird (R)
New Mexico (Open Seat) Democratic 6/7/2022 Raúl Torrez (D)
New Mexico (Open Seat) Democratic 6/7/2022 Jeremy Michael Gay (R)
Nevada Democratic 6/14/2022 Attorney General Aaron D. Ford (D) (Inc.)
Nevada Democratic 6/14/2022 Sigal Chattah (R)
North Dakota (Open Seat) Republican 6/14/2022 Attorney General Drew Wrigley (R) (Inc.)
North Dakota (Open Seat) Republican 6/14/2022 Timothy Charles (Tim) Lamb (D)
South Carolina Republican 6/14/2022 Attorney General Alan Wilson (R) (Inc.)
South Dakota Republican 6/25 - 6/27/2022 (Convention) Marty J. Jackley (R)
Colorado Democratic 6/28/2022 Attorney General Phil Weiser (D) (Inc.)
Colorado Democratic 6/28/2022 John Kellner (R)
Illinois Democratic 6/28/2022 Attorney General Kwame Raoul (D) (Inc.)
Illinois Democratic 6/28/2022 Thomas G. Devore (R)
New York Democratic 6/28/2022 Attorney General Letitia A. James (D) (Inc.)
New York Democratic 6/28/2022 Michael Henry (R)
Oklahoma Republican 6/28/2022 Gentner F. Drummond (R)
Maryland (Open Seat) Democratic 7/19/2022 Michael Anthony Peroutka (R)
Maryland (Open Seat) Democratic 7/19/2022 Congressman Anthony G. Brown (D)
Michigan Democratic 8/2/2022 Attorney General Dana Nessel (D) (Inc.)
Michigan Democratic 8/2/2022 Matthew DePerno (R)
Arizona (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Abraham "Abe" Hamadeh (R)
Arizona (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Kris Mayes (D)
Kansas (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Chris Mann (D)
Kansas (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Former Secretary of State Kris Kobach (R)
Connecticut Democratic 8/9/2022 Attorney General William Tong (D (Inc.))
Connecticut Democratic 8/9/2022 Jessica Kordas
Minnesota Democratic 8/9/2022 Attorney General Keith Ellison (D) (Inc.)
Minnesota Democratic 8/9/2022 Jim Schultz (R)
Vermont (Open Seat) Democratic 8/9/2022 Charity R. Clark (D)
Vermont (Open Seat) Democratic 8/9/2022 H. Brooke Paige (R)
Wisconsin Democratic 8/9/2022 Attorney General Josh Kaul (D) (Inc.)
Wisconsin Democratic 8/9/2022 Eric Toney (R)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Attorney General Ashley Moody (R) (Inc.)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Former State Attorney for the 9th Judicial Court of Florida Aramis Ayala (D)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Democratic 9/6/2022 Andrea Joy Campbell (D)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Democratic 9/6/2022 James R. Mcmahon (R)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Attorney General Peter F Neronha (D) (Inc.)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Charles C Calenda (R)
Delaware Democratic 9/13/2022 Attorney General Kathleen Jennings (D) (Inc.)
Delaware Democratic 9/13/2022 Julianne E. Murray