2021 Local Government Elections


Many of the country's most populated municipalities will hold regularly scheduled elections throughout 2021. 


Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle. 

For additional information, including information on localities not listed, please contact Meghan Holihan

Municipality* State Date Pre-Election Mayoral Partisan Affiliation Winner & Post-Election Mayoral Partisan Affiliation
St. Louis Missouri 4/6/2021 Democratic Tishaura Jones
San Antonio Texas 5/1/2021 Independent Mayor Ron Nirenberg (I) (Inc.)
Plano Texas 5/1/2021 Republican John Muns
Garland Texas 5/1/2021 Republican Mayor Scott LeMay (R) (Inc.)
Omaha Nebraska 5/11/2021 Republican Mayor Jean Stothert (R) (Inc.)
Birmingham Alabama 8/24/2021 Democratic Mayor Randall Woodfin (D) (Inc.)
New York City New York 11/2/2021 Democratic Eric Adams (D)
Detroit Michigan 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Mike Duggan (D) (Inc.)
Seattle Washington 11/2/2021 Democratic Bruce Harrell (D)
Boston Massachusetts 11/2/2021 Democratic Michelle Wu (D)
Albuquerque New Mexico 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Tim Keller (D) (Inc.)
Atlanta Georgia 11/30/2021 (Runoff) Democratic Andre Dickens (D)
Miami Florida 11/2/2021 Republican Mayor Francis Suarez (R) (Inc.)
Minneapolis Minnesota 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Jason Frey (D) (Inc.)
Cleveland Ohio 11/2/2021 Democratic Justin Bibb (D)
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania 11/2/2021 Democratic Ed Gainey (D)
Cincinnati Ohio 11/2/2021 Democratic Aftab Pureval (D)
St. Paul Minnesota 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Melvin Carter (D) (Inc.)
Toledo Ohio 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz (D) (Inc.)
Buffalo New York 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Byron Brown (D) (Inc.)
Jersey City New Jersey 11/2/2021 Democratic Mayor Steve Fulop (D) (Inc.)
St. Petersburg Florida 11/2/2021 Democratic Ken Welch
Durham North Carolina 11/2/2021 Democratic Elaine O’Neal
New Orleans Louisiana 11/13/2021 Democratic Mayor LaToya Cantrell (D) (Inc.)
Hialeah Florida 11/16/2021 Republican Esteban L. "Steve" Bovo Jr. (R)
Anchorage Alaska 5/11/2021 (Runoff) Democratic Dave Bronson
Fort Worth Texas 6/5/2021 (Runoff) Republican Mattie Parker (R)
Arlington Texas 6/5/2021 (Runoff) Republican Jim Ross

*Most North Carolina mayoral contests have been moved to November 2022 due to delays in receiving the U.S. Census Bureau data.