2020 Attorneys General Elections

Attorneys General Races Overview

Ten (10) states elected attorneys general this cycle.


Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle.

For additional information please contact Meghan Holihan at msh@statside.com 

State WINNER Opponent Pre-election Party Control Post-election Party Control
North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein (D) (Inc.) Forsyth County District Attorney Jim O'Neill (R) Democratic Democratic
Pennsylvania Attorney General Josh Shapiro (D) (Inc.) Heather Heidelbaugh (R) Democratic Democratic
Montana Austin Knudsen (R) Raph Graybill (D) Republican Republican
West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey (R) (Inc.) Sam Brown Petsonk (D) Republican Republican
Indiana Todd Rokita (R) Jonathan Weinzapfel (D) Republican Republican
Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes (R) (Inc.) Greg Skordas (D) Republican Republican
Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt (R) (Inc.) Richard Finneran (D) Republican Republican
Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson (D) (Inc.) Matt Larkin (R) Democratic Democratic
Vermont Attorney General TJ Donovan (D) (Inc.) H. Brooke Paige (R) Democratic Democratic
Oregon Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum (D) (Inc.) Michael Cross (R) Democratic Democratic