2018 Attorneys General Elections

Thirty (30) states and the District of Columbia will hold regularly scheduled elections November 6 to choose attorneys general. Qualified Candidates will be listed after the filing deadline has passed or after the Party's Convention.

Attorneys General Races Overview

Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated as candidates declare their intention to run and end an exploratory bid, as well as when the filing deadlines pass. For additional information, please contact Meghan Holihan at msh@stateside.com

State Current Party Control Candidates
Alabama R Attorney General Steve Marshall (R) (Inc.)
Alabama R Joseph Siegelman (D)
Arizona R Attorney General Mark Brnovich (R) (Inc.)
Arizona R January Contreras (D)
Arkansas R Attorney General Leslie Rutledge (R) (Inc.)
Arkansas R Mike Lee (D)
Arkansas R Kerry Hicks (Libertarian)
California D Attorney General Xavier Becerra (D) (Inc.)
California D Former Judge, Steven Bailey (R)
Colorado (Open Seat) R Phil Weiser (D)
Colorado (Open Seat) R Arapahoe County District Attorney George Brauchler (R)
Connecticut (Open Seat) D State Representative William Tong (D)
Connecticut (Open Seat) D Sue Hatfield (R)
Delaware (Open Seat) D Kathleen Jennings (D)
Delaware (Open Seat) D Bernard Pepukayi (R)
Florida (Open Seat) R Ashley Moody (R)
Florida (Open Seat) R State Representative Sean Shaw (D)
Florida (Open Seat) R Jeffrey Marc Siskind (No Party Affiliation)
Georgia R Attorney General Chris Carr (R) (Inc.)
Georgia R Charlie Bailey (D)
Idaho R Attorney General Lawrence Wasden (R) (Inc.)
Idaho R Bruce S. Bistline (D)
Illinois (Open Seat) D Erika Harold (R)
Illinois (Open Seat) D State Senator Kwame Raoul (D)
Iowa D Attorney General Tom Miller (D) (Inc.)
Kansas R Attorney General Derek Schmidt (R) (Inc.)
Kansas R Sarah G. Swain (D)
Maryland D Attorney General Brian Frosh (D) (Inc.)
Maryland D Craig Wolf (R)
Massachusetts D Attorney General Maura Healey (D) (Inc.)
Massachusetts D James McMahon III (R)
Michigan (Open Seat) R House Speaker Tom Leonard (R)
Michigan (Open Seat) R Dana Nessel (D)
Minnesota (Open Seat) D Congressman Keith Ellison (DFL)
Minnesota (Open Seat) D Doug Wardlow (R)
Nebraska R Attorney General Doug Peterson (R) (Inc.)
Nevada (Open Seat) R Wes Duncan (R)
Nevada (Open Seat) R State Senator Aaron Ford (D)
Nevada (Open Seat) R Joel F. Hansen (Independent American)
New Mexico D Attorney General Hector Balderas (D) (Inc.)
New Mexico D Michael Eugene Hendricks (R)
New Mexico D A. Blair Dunn (Libertarian)
New York (Open Seat) D Letitia James (D)
New York (Open Seat) D Keith Wofford (R)
North Dakota R Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem (R) (Inc.)
North Dakota R David Clark Thompson (D)
Ohio (Open Seat) R State Auditor Dave Yost (R)
Ohio (Open Seat) R Steve Dettelbach (D)
Oklahoma R Attorney General Mike Hunter (R) (Inc.)
Oklahoma R Mark Myles (D)
Rhode Island (Open Seat) D Alan Gordon (Compassion)
Rhode Island (Open Seat) D Peter F. Neronha (D)
South Carolina R Attorney General Alan Wilson (R) (Inc.)
South Carolina R Constance Anastopoulo (D)
South Dakota (Open Seat) R Jason Ravnsborg (R)
South Dakota (Open Seat) R Former U.S. Attorney Randy Seiler (D)
Texas R Attorney General Ken Paxton (R) (Inc.)
Texas R Justin Nelson (D)
Vermont D Attorney General T.J. Donovan (D) (Inc.)
Vermont D State Representative Janssen Willhoit (R)
Washington, D.C. D Attorney General Karl Racine (D) (Inc.)
Wisconsin R Attorney General Brad Schimel (R) (Inc.)
Wisconsin R Josh Kaul (D)
Wisconsin R Terry Larson (Constitution)